Award Details

Award Information
E.P. Fetherstonhaugh Memorial Scholarship
VALUE: $3650 (variable # of awards) - 2013-2014 award value


From the testamentary gift of Mrs. Margaret Adele Fetherstonhaugh, a scholarship fund of $25,000 has been established at The University of Manitoba in memory of E.P. Fetherstonhaugh, a former Dean of the Faculty of Engineering and late husband of the testatrix. The Manitoba Scholarships and Bursaries Initiative has made a contribution to this fund.

An amount up to the annual income on this fund will be available to provide one or more scholarships to students who:

(1) have completed with high standing and free of conditions;

(2) proceed in the next ensuing academic year to fourth year Engineering;

(3) are applicants for scholarship consideration.

If a student selected as a recipient of a scholarship awarded from this fund does not register as required, said scholarship may be awarded by reversion to the next qualified candidate except that the selection committee may, for good reason and in its discretion, permit a one-year deferment. In any year in which the total income for that year is not allotted, any remaining income will be added to the corpus of the fund.

Where the selection committee for these scholarships deems that the qualifications of the candidates are approximately equal, preference will be given to students pursuing the study program in Electrical Engineering.

The selection committee for these scholarships will be the Director of the Financial Aid and Awards Office (representing the Vice-Chancellor), the Dean of the Faculty of Engineering, and the Heads of the Department of Electrical, Civil and Mechanical Engineering.

The Will of the testatrix gives to The University of Manitoba the power to modify the terms of this scholarship fund if changed conditions necessitate provided such modification conforms as closely as possible to the intent expressed in making the bequest.

Est. 03/76
Award Type:
Application Required:
Close Date:
Supporting Files:


Back to award list